The realness of historical war gaming.

First blog post!

I have been sitting around for a few days contemplating on what to write for my first blog post. Sadly this first post has nothing to do with my blogs name sake. It instead has to do with historical miniatures and historical war gaming, specifically focusing on World War II miniature gaming.

I have recently started to dive into Flames of War. For those that are not familiar it is a WWII semi-historical miniature game. I mean semi-historical since you can have companies that never fought against one another that can face off a crossed the table primed for battle. With that aside I purchased the rule book a few months back, simply because I enjoy reading rule books even if I might never play the game (my collection of RIFTS books). The further I read this fantastic rule set the more I wanted to play Flames of War. This is when I hit a conundrum, and an issue I have had with this genre of miniature games and why I have never play historical war games. Simply because real people died in these wars/battles and I feel like it would be trivializing to play a game based around this specific subject matter.

I have since gotten over this when my much younger brother in law has started to show an interest in hobby gaming. When he learned there was a WWII miniature game he was ecstatic and has urged me to teach him how to play. So I asked myself can I share this game and my hobby with a kid when I cannot get over the ‘real’ factor this game has on me. Well it was simple, I can use this as a tool to teach and learn more about WWII as well as the people that served by playing this game. The best part of it was you can gain a perspective from different sides of the conflict that you just cannot get from reading a history book. In the same regard I feel I would not be doing this game justice if I did not read a few dozen history books on the subject to make my company as accurate as possible.

So once again this hobby has impressed me. I just needed to remember how holistic miniature war gaming can be. It is far more than just reading the rules, painting, and playing. It is also about learning the history involved with conflict, experiences those conflicts, now albeit in a much safer and none life threatening situation that but it does not trivialize veterans of war, in fact because it reminds you that real people served, fought, and died you come out having learned something about history and yourself. This makes games like this more than your ability to play a History Channel special. I will have more reflection on this subject when I have actually played the game, which is still months away.

This entry was posted in Discussion, Flames of War, Gaming, Miniatures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

